Termin Informationen:

  • So
    Vienna Musikverein

    LEONARD BERNSTEIN Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
    KURT SCHWERTSIK Muertes en Relajo Op. 126, Czech premiere
    PHILIP GLASS / arr. MICHAEL RIESMAN Mishima Concerto for piano and orchestra, co-commissioned by Filharmonie Brno, Czech premiere

    Maki Namekawa piano
    Filharmonie Brno
    conductor Dennis Russell Davies


    Three Times America
    The American chief conductor of the Brno Philharmonic will lead two works by famous American composers, Leonard Bernstein and Philip Glass, accompanied by a piece by Austrian composer Kurt Schwertsik inspired by the diaries of the famous Mexican painter Frida Kahlo. Davies had or has strong artistic and friendship ties with all three composers.

    West Side Story
    This great social drama, in which knives and guns come into play, is a critique of American society in which human lives lose all value in an atmosphere of tension and hatred; in such a bad world, love seeks its place in vain.

    Muertes en Relajo
    The title of Schwertsik’s piece literally means Death in Relaxation. In Frida Kahlo’s diary, underneath these words is a picture of three dancing skeletons and a colourful bird flying above them – motifs that are often found in the Mexican painter’s work are treated here with detachment and even humour, an approach that is also inherent in Schwertsik’s music. The work was premiered on 26 March 2023 at the Leipzig Gewandhaus by the MDR Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Dennis Russell Davies.

    Mishima Concerto
    This piano concerto is based on Glass’s score for the biopic Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters (1985), about the famous Japanese writer and warrior Yukio Mishima. The concerto was premiered on 7 July 2023 at the renowned Ruhr Piano Festival by Maki Namekawa, conducted by Dennis Russell Davies.